Go to Kentucky.gov home page
Kentucky Education Cabinet Kentucky Education Cabinet Kentucky Education Cabinet Kentucky Education Cabinet

Education and Workforce Development Cabinet
Floyd County added to severe weather-related unemployment insurance

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, June 22, 2011  
Contact Information:   

FRANKFORT, Ky.  —  Officials from the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that one additional Kentucky county has qualified for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA), bringing the total to 22 counties.

Kentuckians in Floyd County who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather that occurred beginning in mid April 2011 may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits. July 22, 2011, is the deadline for applying for benefits for Floyd County.

“Families must still pay bills and put food on the table in the wake of disasters,” said Governor Steve Beshear. “This assistance may help many get back on their feet.”

Farmers and self-employed people, who are normally not eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, may also qualify for disaster unemployment assistance, according to the Office of Employment and Training (OET), an agency of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet.

All regular unemployment insurance benefits must be exhausted prior to receiving any disaster benefits. Applications can be filed at local OET offices.

When filing a claim, self-employed individuals should bring a copy of their 2010 income tax return.  Other applicants need only a photo-identification card and their Social Security number.

Boyd, Crittenden, Graves, Hardin, Hickman, Jefferson, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, Webster and Union counties were previously announced on May 24, 2011, deadline of June 24, 2011. Ballard, Daviess, Henderson, Lawrence, McLean and Pike counties were announced on June 3, 2011, with a deadline of July 5, 2011. Carroll, Fulton, Johnson and Carlisle counties were announced on June 17 with a deadline of July 18, 2011. Additional counties may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

More information about this disaster is available at http://www.kyem.ky.gov/aprilsevereweather.htm.
OET helps individuals prepare for, secure and maintain employment; assists employers in locating and selecting the best qualified workers for their job openings; and provides income maintenance to ease the financial burden on individuals who are out of work through no fault of their own.

The Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet coordinates learning programs from P-16, and manages and supports training and employment functions in the Department of Workforce Investment. For more information about services, visit www.educationcabinet.ky.gov or www.workforce.ky.gov.



Last Updated 6/22/2011
Privacy | Security | Disclaimer | Accessibility Statement